Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Sorry America, I just might not come back

I go back and forth from thinking that I could stay here forever and Oh my god I’m going to be here forever. I lean more heavily towards I could stay here forever, I think.

And now the post that's the reason I'm here. Work. This will probably only be interesting to people in Advertising, so I’m putting the non-advertising related stuff first and then you can read on if you care about the differences in advertising in Atlanta and Singapore. Which clearly, everyone does!

Singlish word of the day: Takeaway. Instead of wanting something To-go, you want it for takeaway. Now you know.

And for last post b/c I forgot to include: Queue. They always say please Queue here instead of wait in line or something like that. Please Queue here for my next blog post ladies and gentlemen.


Amazing Advertising learning: Here, they pull a color proof before every ad they run. And they send it to the publication. And when they do that, it’s called getting the colour seps. Adds 2 days to the timeline of getting it to the pub. But I guess better safe than sorry!

BTW, fun fact, I’ve been starting to talk and write like they do here. Colour, organisation, warmest regards (that’s how they end all emails…ridiculously nice closings). I have caught myself saying y’all twice here. The sad thing is, they are all so far removed from that, that they don’t even make fun of me for it.

Dumb American moment: I was helping the art director look up some image options for something and I pulled a ton of options. When we went through, one of the ones I pulled was Mainland Chinese versus Southeast Asian. I know there’s a difference, I just don’t know the difference…yet.

Went to a happy hour on Tuesday (at 7:30 and I had to leave work early to make it) with Stephanie. It was 2 for 1. Except they call it 1 for 1. Though I don’t really think it matters either way b/c each beer cost S$15 so it’s a real steal they’re giving us. Not. Then I ate at McDonald’s the other day. I know, I know. I never even really ate at McDonald’s in the states but after the 2 for 1 night, I just really wanted it. It does taste the same. Exactly the same. But look at how tiny the little ketchup thing is? It was like a miniature plate!


I went to lunch with some people from work on Wednesday. One guy, Bobby, is from the states and went to LSU for undergrad. So we were talking about what we miss from the states. To be honest, I don’t really have that much yet. His was Mexican food, wings and Light beer (they have all of that here, it’s just not the same). I really miss Light beer too (ref previous blog entry) and I’ve only been here a week. Does that make me an alcy? This prompted another co-worker, Eric, to join in and ask what Bud Light was. What is Bud Light?!?! So we talked about that and what Irish Car Bombs were for a while. It was riveting and quite funny.

UPDATE: The previous Bug Repellent was such a success I decided to upgrade. This time I mean business.


Food:
Most importantly, look what I found in the Cold Storage!!!! My life is complete. I just need to make sure I have the supplies to make it.







This is the snack my boss, Angelique, was eating today. She offered one to me so I tried it, I thought it was a pretzel stick. I missed the part where it was a ham and cheese flavored stick. It wasn’t bad, but it was definitely a surprise and her face when I made my face was priceless. I wish I had that on camera.





Work:
I started on Monday. A week ago. It feels like it's been 304 days. It has been quite interesting. I want to caveat this part of the post that I am not complaining or judging. I'm trying to have completely objective observations of differences and similarities of our offices.

1. In this office, everyone starts really showing up between 10:00 and 10:30 (though my boss gets here at 9:00 and therefore so do I) and here's the kicker: NO ONE LEAVES THE OFFICE BEFORE 8:00 PM. You guys in Atlanta always thought I would work late and I left at 6:30 or 7:00 most nights. Seriously, no one leaves until 8:00 or later. It's nuts. And I'm hungry by 8:00! Speaking of food, they may work late, but almost everyone goes to lunch every day. It’s like the exact opposite of Fitzco numbers.

2. All McCann Erikson advertising is on the 5th floor. Finance and MRM and Momentum are all on other floors but creatives, account management, production and traffic are all together on the 5th floor. Quite close actually. The distance between my desk and the first creative is probably from my Fitzco desk to Jeff Anderson's desk but it's completely unobstructed. And b/c of that, everyone seems to talk a lot more. Creatives come over to the AM area and vice versa. I have posted pictures below. There's only like 10 offices around the edges and everyone else are in these short cubes...including account directors and such. And then the creative guys are mostly paired copywriter and art director in these little pod like things. I’ll get a better picture of that when I know the guys better, they might think I was nuts if I did it now.

The 6th Floor lobby


The main are where account management sits and the upper management:


Studio area on the left and creative pod-like things straight ahead. This is just at the top right of the previous picture.


The kitchen area, Refrigerator and stuff behind me:


3. I was going to save my Fitzco Bizarro World references til I could really place personalities but I already have a few so here goes. It's based on a variety of distinguishing factors.

Bizarro DC - there is Chris, the IT guy. He set up my iPhone. DC set up my iPhone. Chris walks around changing computers, fixing phones and the girls all get excited when he comes around. DC walks around the office and all the girls get excited when he comes to help them. I haven't seen Chris dance yet, but I have high hopes.

Bizarro Carlos - Though this guy is Canadian. He just kinda looks like him. T-shirts, emo glasses. I haven’t' talked to him yet so I can’t tell you if everything is the same. Not a good picture, but I had to be covert from my desk.

Bizarro Brian McB and Jenna - Isn't it obvious? (PS This is Sean. He's pretty awesome, especially since he let me take his picture.

4. Now this is very important - given the cube set up, I can see a lot of people's computers the angle that I'm at. In the week I have been here, I have seen ONE person on facebook, and it was only once. No Gmail, no facebook, no pandora, nada. They work 10-12 hour days and do not dilly daddle on the internet. Why do you even need all these people? If you took away our access to facebook and gchat, I could do the work of 12 men (I’m banking on the fact that Lisa G is not reading this).

5. More than once, I have gone to the elevator to change floors, cursed because I didn't have my fob, turned to go back to my desk to get it and then turned back around because I don't need my effing fob here!

6. Traffic is EXACTLY the same here. Not really, they do some different things. But they still say "no, it can't be done that fast" or she saw me talking to an AD and walked up to see what we were talking about, etc. But it also differs in that, if creative gives something to review, it's expected that there will be internal changes and I'm allowed to go directly to them to get them done. Only when they are significant or they are client comments does it seem you have to do a ‘change order’, or as they say in Singapore, a ‘Revision Brief’. The traffic ladies - Creative Services here - also get stock costs and purchase them when it is approved. I already had my first "I know it's tight timing but we have to get it out" discussion with traffic here. I’m sure they’ll love me. Which leads me to my next point.

7. My team. I really like everyone I'm working with. They are smart, quick and very nice. Angelique, is over all 3 accounts and is a regional Business Director. She's quite funny and has been very inclusive. She asks me my thoughts and actually uses my input. The other day she said she 'trusts my tastes' and went with it. It was nuts! I've only been here for 5 seconds. I've only really been working on Holiday Inn and Panasonic this week so I'll talk through those girls and will get to L'Oreal once I have more info. Pim is an Account Director on Holiday Inn and Bonnie is an Account Manager on Holiday Inn and Panasonic. Both were out sick for 2 days at the beginning of the week which is why I already had my run-in with Traffic. I've been doing a WHOLE lot of stuff that I don't think I would have been doing if they had been here. It’s been very busy, and crazy since I don’t know the system but pretty cool. Fun to work on a brand again that actually does advertising people see.

Panasonic is working on this really cool OOH idea to launch their 3D TV. I hope it works out b/c it's super cool.

Holiday Inn did a shoot yesterday that is for an Australian Rugby ad. Which means we casted attractive Australian men. Best. Casting. Ever. I got a few pictures from the shoot. Don't drool too much ladies. I may do enough for all of us. Just imagine them all with accents. As I mentioned, the shoot was on Saturday, call time before 9:00. I swear they don't sleep here. But it was at the Holiday Inn right next to my apartment so I just walked over.

8. This one’s for Becky – if you don’t do your timesheet in 7 days, it shuts down your email. That’s the way to do it.

9. They use the biggest tape dispensers and tiniest staplers here. Angelique and I were laughing about it the other day when I told her our staplers were bigger and she’d never seen one. So I need someone to send me a picture of one of our staplers. I guess I could google it, but I'm trying to make the blog interactive here guys!

10. Ad sizes are in millimeters, not inches. The first time I saw it I was shocked. 210 x 275…it’s HUGE.

This isn’t work related, but no one says 'Bless You' here. I said it to someone who sneezed here today and have almost said it lots of other times and they looked at me like I was crazy. In retrospect, it makes sense why no one would say that, since I’m sure it has Christian foundations and most people here are not Christians. But it was just out of habit for me!

Last but not least, everyone knows the crazy rules here. I was talking to someone the other day and they said that there's so many rules and such strict punishment (they hung an Australian last year for trafficking drugs) that people are too scared to do anything at all. I accidentally kicked a piece of litter yesterday, and I do not lie when I say my heart jumped b/c I was petrified that some plain clothed cop would come flying out and tackle me.

Warmest Regards,
Robin

No comments:

Post a Comment