Sunday, July 11, 2010

Anyone for a Taro Turnover?


I'm pretty sure there couldn't be anything less appetizing than this. You get it free when you buy any of the Burger King A4dables. I think I'll pass. What even is that goo-ing out of it? Fish eggs?

Singlish Word of the Day: Angmo (pronounced Ang moe, hard 'a' and 'g') - it basically means White Monkey and it's what the Asians call white people. Some people consider it racist, but it's pretty widely used even in the papers and such. And to be honest, I kinda like being called a white monkey. It's funny. I've started calling other white people Angmos. Bring it on Angmos.

Amazing Advertising Learning - They don't have an Art Producer here. Well, they have someone that does a teensy bit of that role but for the shoot we did on Saturday, there wasn't an agency 'Jonas' if you will. Those responsibilities were split between an Account Manager and the photographer's producer.

Dumb American Moment - We were watching Rugby on Saturday trying to educate some of us on what it's really like, and I said "Oh I think I get it, it's like a cross between Soccer and American Football". The client looked at me like "Dumb American, always has to bring it back to something American." I was just trying to understand the game!! Rugby's stupid.

Though I want to say, my Holiday Inn clients are some of the nicest clients ever, so objective and smart.


Weekend recap, brought to you by Samsung, my teeny tiny phone I bought this weekend so I can text and call local numbers. It's much cheaper, and now locals can text and call me at a normal rate. The phone was only $35! Now I'm one of those people with 2 phones that I always heckled. Oh well. It's worth it for sure. Didn't realise how much I missed texting until I had it again.


Thursday night
I went to a Happy Hour with some co-workers. And by Happy Hour, I mean after Happy Hour b/c as I previously mentioned, we didn't leave work until after 8:00. Anywho, a couple of us decided to walk because they said it was close to work. And as we passed my apartment, I realised how close we were! (You see that? I spelled it with an 's' I'm so good at this!) I can walk to my office in under 10 minutes. Yes, please. I've always been taking the MRT b/c that's all I knew, but now I'm a walking machine. Though it's a little Working Girl-esque, with me in flip-flops and my heels in my bag...if I dare to wear heels (see Saturday night mention). I might wear tennis shoes one day just so I can get someone to take a pic and I can post it. Pretty sweet.

It was nice to have some drinks and wind down and make some new friends. I promise I won't always bitch about this but 'Dang Kevin, beers are expensive!' We got 3 of the cheapest beers and it was $20. I was at the 7-Eleven the other day (they are everywhere here!) to get some beer and it was $15 USD for a 6-pack of Tiger beer (the cheap beer). $15 bucks!!!! Tiger beer I have found is manageable taste-wise for me. Which is good, because it's cheap. As opposed to the S$13 I paid at a bar on Saturday for a glass of Stella.







Friday night

Had dinner and drinks with my account team. It's 7 girls, including me, and we just gossiped and talked about the differences in the US and here. 2 of the girls have actually lived in the US for a couple years. Everyone here is so well-traveled, and usually lived somewhere else for a while. It's very interesting...and definitely adds a lot more to learn b/c now I'm learning about Singapore and all the places they've lived. At dinner I had Mussels. And they were good! This is Serene...with a very, very large Hoegaarden. Doesn't quite do the magnitude of the pint cup justice. Then it was time for bed b/c we had an early call-time for the shoot.

Saturday
I had the shoot with the Australian gents. Not all of them were Australian, one was British and one was American. But all were hot. And the accents were ridiculous. They sat next to me at lunch. I was such a sissy, my hands were shaking. It was pathetic. But they were attractive guys with accents! What was I supposed to do? I tried to act as professional as possible. But when you stutter it's a little hard to come off like an adult.

You know what's cuter than a guy with an accent though? A little kid with an accent. There was this little British 5-year old girl at breakfast the other morning and it was just adorable!

Saturday night

I met up with Stephanie for drinks at Clarke Quay (it's pronounced 'Key', I have no idea why but I didn't want anyone else to make the same mistake I did). I've been determined to try a new place as much as possible so I've been in all parts of the city. It was early and we just went to a dive bar where the Stella was $7...wahoo! Half priced beer. Sad that a $7 beer gets me excited, but it does. And then my new work bestie Kris was in the same area with his girlfriend so I met up with them until it was bed time for me, I was exhausted. Kris's girlfriend is a 5'9 blonde girl from Sweden (or Switzerland? can't remember) and super cool. It's a little unfair. And she was brave enough to wear very tall heels. I've only wore heels once here b/c even without them, I tower over everyone.

I need to get better at taking pictures of my new friends. I always forget. But when I'm on the MRT or walking around, I can think of it then. Even if the people give me weird stares.

I slept in and took it easy on Sunday. I've been overdoing it a bit since I feel like I should really experience Singapore. I keep forgetting, I've got 3 months to really experience everything.


I know I've mentioned my wonderful setup with my apartment. The fact that they come in every day and clean, make my bed, do my dishes, new towels, etc. Well they certainly went above and beyond last week when they organized my makeup and jewelry area. Please notice the iPhone charger curled around the plug. That my mascara standing upright in the bottom left. Wow.


But double wow is the mural they have on the wall of the Children's play area in my building. Who's idea was it to put this up?!



Nick Saban and Fitzgerald + CO made an appearance at the office today. Glad they could make it out and keep me company.


Tata for now. Hopefully I'll have some better stories at the end of the week!

4 comments:

  1. You should experiment with the housekeepers. I want to know what all they will organize and do. I recommend you start seeing how far they will go and for what amount of tips. Perhaps you leave them $5 and see if they will dispose of a dead kitty or something... could be fun--I just haven't thought all the way through it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Leanne and I saw CNS (that's Coach Nick Saban to the obsessive sports bloggers) this weekend playing his last rounds of golf at Lake Burton before heading to Tuscaloosa for the season. He was dressed head-to-toe in crimson. The pro at the golf shop said he was so cheap he wouldn't buy a $25 shirt from the pro shop. He only wears what he gets free from UA. Anyway, he's a wee man.

    ReplyDelete
  3. You shut your mouth Chris Edmondson. What if CNS is reading my blog? :) I don't think he'd like people talking about how he's cheap with his $4 mm dollars/year.

    He is a wee man. Not sure how he played ball before...

    ReplyDelete
  4. i wish someone would come and clean my apartment like that! and i love the picture you have on your counter - it's small, but it looks like its that the one from smiths for jen or crystal's birthday?

    ReplyDelete